The Faculty of Law, Universitas Brawijaya, was originally called the College of Law and Community Knowledge (PTHPM) which was established on July 1, 1957 on the initiative of the Malang Higher Education Foundation (YPTM). Faculty of Law and Public Knowledge (FHPM) Universitas Brawijaya based on Presidential Decree Number 59 of 1982 dated September 7, 1982 changed its name to Faculty of Law, Universitas Brawijaya. The Faculty of Law has one department, namely the Department of Law. Currently, the Faculty of Law manages three levels of education.

All study programs have been accredited A and accredited B for the Doctoral Study program and the Jakarta class Doctoral study program. In addition, the Undergraduate Study Program has received AUN QA certification.

Undergraduate Program

Bachelor of Legal Studies consists of five sections and eight concentrations.

Masters Program

The Masters level has two study programs, namely Masters in Law and Masters in Notary. This Masters level also consists of six special interests, namely civil law, criminal law, constitutional law, state administrative law, international law and Islamic law.

Doctoral Program

The Doctoral level consists of two study programs, namely Doctor of Law and Doctor of Law, PSDKU Jakarta.

The Faculty of Law, Universitas Brawijaya is committed to participating in increasing the recognition of education internationally, this is shown through various Exchange programs that involve lecturers and students from various world universities. As an embodiment of the tri dharma of higher education, in the field of education the curriculum used has been specifically designed in accordance with the learning outcomes to be achieved to produce graduates who understand legal science comprehensively and are able to answer challenges in the global world of work. The Faculty of Law is also always actively involved in scientific activities involving legal practitioners and scientists. The Faculty of Law also offers scholarship opportunities both at national and international levels to students with the aim of supporting the continuity of education. In the field of research, the Faculty of Law, Universitas Brawijaya develops superior research in the field of law to bring progress in the field of law.
In the field of community service, the Faculty of Law Universitas Brawijaya also contributes to the community through various programs involving fostered partners. The services provided by the Faculty of Law, Universitas Brawijaya are supported by adequate Information Technology to create an orderly, efficient, and transparent service management. Information can be accessed openly by the public. The development of character and soft skills of students with character is realized through various student activities in the Student Autonomous Institution (Student Unit0) which has the aim of developing leadership, responsibility, discipline, tolerance, cooperation, and professional ethics. The cooperation carried out with various partner universities, government agencies and other institutions on a local, national, and international scale shows the seriousness of the Faculty of Law, Universitas Brawijaya to expand its network to improve education that is superior and with international standards.